Paxtonvic’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Oh, the rare scent of a nursery in bloom

Unexpectedly, I came across a nursery( not a big commercial Garden Centre)  in a corner of our Deanery  countryside as I was driving from one meeting to the next. I was enticed in by the site of glorious hanging baskets and bedding plants waiting for a new home. It was, I found, like a secret garden of early summer just coming into its own – and the variety of plants on sale was a delight. Quietly, I eased my way along the rows of seedling and young tender shooting plants delighting in the scents and sights. I was reminded of the Gerard Manley Hopkins poem Pied Beauty :  Glory be to God for dappled things………..for all things counter, original, spare and strange….. he fathers-forth whose beauty is past change.

May 14, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. of course now I want to know where it is- especially as today is plant the garden day. I had a similar experience when finally venturing into a garden centre I had passed hundreds of times but never got inside_ Oakington, in case you’re wondering which was full of wonderful old roses, the main thing I’ll be planting today. Also yay for GMH

    Comment by Allrevedup | May 15, 2009 | Reply

    • Well, its just outside Everton – on the road out of Everton towards St Neot’s. Didnt know it is Plant The Garden Day – and its raining – well it is here at least. But then our gardens need it….

      Its also Chapter morning for St Neots’ folk so Id better get a move on and get dressed!

      Comment by paxtonvic | May 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

