Paxtonvic’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Endangered species

In April I open my bill
In May I sing night and day
In June I change my tune
In July far far I fly
In August away I must

cuckoo

So  says the cuckoo- Ive heard the sound of the cuckoo a fair bit these last few days. But according to a report out to today they have been put on the red list of endangered species. The number of cuckoos making it tothis country from Southern Africa  has declinded rapidly.

Dr Mark Avery ( good name for a birdman!) head of conservation at the RSPB says ” the increasing numbers of birds at risk was “scandalous”.

“An increasing number of charismatic, widespread and familiar birds are joining the list of those species most in need of help — this is scandalou”.

The reason? Conservationists blame the situation on loss of habitat caused by intensive farming techniques, climate change and development. Nothing new there – but is it too late to reverse these trends?

Had a good chat  with my son this afternoon as we sat in traffic in St Neots High Street. Not a cuckoo in sight there.

st neots high street

It seemed to me that he may not be the only young person who is pretty disillusioned by politicians and the political scene. Morally upright politicians  seem to be an endangered species as well – can we spot any who we feel we would vote for? I think is a serious issue – the public need to be able trust the men and women who represent us – Im not sure trust is a word that expresses how  people feel right now aboout politicians. How is that trust is going to be rebuilt I dont know- is it too late to reverse the trend of cynicism and mistrust?

Cheer up, Vicar, you dont usually get into political stuff!  True, but this expenses  business has  got to me.  Obviously time to watch ” Britian’s got talent” – another semi-final

May 28, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Just been to hear VInce Cable on the present economic crisis at the Cathedral- he was pretty impressive and came across as someone of integrity

    Comment by Allrevedup | May 28, 2009 | Reply

  2. Funny you should say that – when Mike and I were talking earlier about politics i thought of Mr Cable and that he is someone I think I would trust… glad you found him impressive. Will there be a write up of his talk at all on the Diocesan web-site??

    Comment by paxtonvic | May 28, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

