Paxtonvic’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Famous for five minutes but a parent for life

Did the deed on Radio Cambridge and spoke in an animated fashion about the Sleep-Over on June 5th at Great Paxton Church.The topic was introduced with spooky music and mention of bats – as if they are likely to start sucking blood from anyone who enters the church after dusk…. still, I guess it might have got the listeners attention.

I had all my notes ready – there were things i had to mention – but of course in the heat of the excitement, I forgot even to mention the fact there was a Festival exhibition all week-end leading from the Sleep-Over – how silly is that!!  I think I made a plug for my wonderful blog and said that lots of churches were adapting their buildings for more community use. It all goes so quicky Great Paxton Project 022on a radio interview…

Sorry this isnt a brill piccie of the inside of GP church – more globular lights than anything else – we hate them- and one day hope to have some nicer lights. It is a view looking up towards the chancel where all the bats do their thing. Bagsy I have a spot sleeping up there!

My son Michael has arrived – yipee – gonna go and have an adventure or two with him – like buy some clothes and a skate board so he can get to his school where he teaches in Croyden more easily.  Here is me and him in the long distant past…mummy and michael

May 28, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. You’ve hardly changed a bit Annette! Glad the radio interview went well. Hope you have a good time with Michael – he must be a pretty cool teacher if he’s going to school on a skateboard. I can’t imagine any of my school masters doing that – but it would have been fun to see their gowns fluttering in the Edinburgh breeze!

    Comment by Nick | May 28, 2009 | Reply

    • Nick – kind as ever – I think I might get the hair permed again one day!

      Comment by paxtonvic | May 28, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hahaha this is an amazing blog! Love the pictures! But Im abit nervous about Mike on a skateboard….up and down the hill to and from work….Lol.
    Anyway I hope ur ok and all is well. Have a great weekend!
    Love from,
    Lottie.
    xx

    Comment by Lottie | May 28, 2009 | Reply

    • Yo Lottie – good to hear from you all the way from the Wild Fens….. we havent got the skateboard yet – but Im sure he will find one before long. Mike is getting kitted out with domestic stuff ready for the new flat – wonder if he will know what to do with half of it!!! See you soon from paxtonvic x

      Comment by paxtonvic | May 28, 2009 | Reply

  3. I managed to catch you on the radio this morning- just when I thought I was too late the spooky music started and I thought
    ‘Aha!’ I thought you came over really well- so congrats. Hope you had fun with Michael

    Comment by Allrevedup | May 28, 2009 | Reply

    • Most kind, allrevdup – it was fun to do – not sure about the spooky music though!

      Comment by paxtonvic | May 28, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

