Paxtonvic’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Lap of luxury

Just trying to post a post using a borrowed lap top in bed. I suppose its a bit like reading a book in bed – or writing a book in bed.

My mum is 86 today quite an achievement considering she was so poorly in August. I bought her a pink blouse and pink cardigan and a little hair brush as her old one disappeared yesterday. I told her I loved her and sat sowing in name tapes into her new clothes. With the wonders of modern technology I was able to get her to speak to my sister with the handsfree mobile phone and later to my son in London – having been hardlyy able to speak a few weeks ago, she did really well. Mum told me she was 11lb 7 ozs when she was born – thats a big baby! and that a midwife called Eva Edwards from Pentre delivered her. She was a Salvation Army Officer in Pentre. My mum was born in Cwm Parc, a Welsh mining village near Pentre in the Rhondda. 86 years ago – now life has changed. No lap tops then. Its a pleasure doing things for my mum though there is never enough time and even on a day off ( mine is meant to be Friday) I often have to be somewhere else which is work related. As a child, I always wanted to please people and that unrealistic trait has stayed with me. I am mortified if I think I have done something wrong and upset someone – again, not helpful in ministry as inevitably without meaning any harm, that is going to happen from time to time. Living up to other peoples expectations ( and those of ” the church”  in general)  can be exhausting  Whereas, I know that really its God who I want to direct mylife  -and the rest hopefully will come right. I guess a lot of clergy suffer from being over conscientious and Im hearing of too many lately who are suffering from stress.

So, from tomorrow morning Im going to chill as they say and not worry so much about external expectations.  Well, that might last for a bit……could get into this late night lap top reflection stuff – but sadly lap top will be going back to its owner soon.

Sleep Tight blog readers…

October 2, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. Yo Paxxy;

    belated congrats and Happy Birthday to Mum yesterday.

    I’m not one for giving advise but…..

    “blow £350 and buy a laptop; life’s for living”.

    Have a good day.

    The allottment calls for us, its going to be a windy one.

    Comment by Wingy | October 3, 2009 | Reply

    • Yo Wingy – I think you are right – especailly lap tops which Im told you can take anywhere and if there is a strong enough signal you can get connected!I might just get tempted..
      Yes, its getting pretty windy here – enjoy your allotment day!

      Comment by paxtonvic | October 3, 2009 | Reply

  2. Living up to the expectations of others and trying to keep everyone happy can indeed have us all going around in circles. I know where you are coming from on this one and I myself am way to prone to do that little bit extra to please others – these days I have a little help from a very nice lady called Karen who tells me off when she catches me doing more than my share. Perhaps you need a Karen too!

    Comment by Iona | October 3, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hope you keep up this chilling and do treat yourself to a laptop- I’m sitting on the bed in my bathrobe using mine now.

    Comment by Allrevedup | October 3, 2009 | Reply

  4. Thanks everyone for your encouraging words – think im a bit nearer to that lap top dream….
    sleep tight

    Comment by paxtonvic | October 3, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

