Paxtonvic’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monopoly – an old Christmas Tradition

Playing  monopoly on Boxing Day takes me back to my childhood in Bournemouth – I loved to play with my grandparents and the names of the streets and stations etc used to fascinate me – I loved to be able to buy a red hotel and have lots of crispy notes. Must have liked property in those days!

After Mike, Adele and myself went to fetch Mike’s girlfriend Lottie from the wild fens, we came back, saw grandma and then after some food got stuck in with monopoly. Mike played some unwise moves and was broke first. I tended to play rather cautiously whilst Adele and Lottie were quite brazen in their spending….

Adele considering her options.

Pritzels help to keep the brain alert…

Capitalism at its worst!

The little tree looking on….

Well, Im afraid I cleaned the board with them all – having dominated the brown and light blues streets for all of the game. Although Lottie held Mayfair with four green houses – I always seemed to miss!

Earlier in the day, we had gone to see grandma in her care home and it was nice to see her eyes open and enjoying some maltesers. It was lovely to have the family together for just a short time – I really missed the kids when they went back to Coventry and London.


December 28, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. I’m Monopoly house green with envy. Looking forward very much to seeing you tomorrow

    Comment by Allrevedup | December 29, 2009 | Reply

  2. haha i enjoyed the detailed description and captions of our monopoly game… and the piccies of course xxx

    Comment by adele | January 15, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

