Paxtonvic’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Oh no… he’s changed again….

Im going to ‘fess up now  and admit that  I was quite upset when Dr Who began his latest transformation. True, Ive lived through 10 now ( or is it 11?) and I still think the days of Jon Pertwee in the 1970’s were the very best – but I have loved David Tennant’s ‘s version though acknowledge that all good things come to an end – or rather change and evolve. I suppose its a bit like incumbents  changing every now and then – the difference being that sometimes the gender changes as well…..

Okay, we have women priests, but could we really ever see a female Doctor Who? It’s an interesting question….

We have to wait till the spring to find out how the new boy does -I shall keep an open mind.

So, the first day of the 2010. I have got on and done some preparation for sunday – it comes round every week and its not good to be caught out unprepared.

January 1, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. Opinion round our dinner table was that the way is being prepared for Dr ?’s daughter to take a more prominent role …

    Comment by David Thomson | January 1, 2010 | Reply

  2. It would be lovely to see more of Jenny. She was a bit fab, and there’s certainly scope for her coming back in some form. If the doctor runs out of regenerations (is it 13 that they have altogether?) any time soon then she could indeed take over. But mostly I’d like them to meet again; it would be fun to see them travel together.
    In the mean time I shall continue my 30 days’ mourning and brace myself for the new man…

    Comment by Ally | January 12, 2010 | Reply

    • Ally – this is worrying news that a Time Lord can only have 13 regenerations…have you a reputable source for this information??

      30 days mourning doesnt seem long enough Mr Tennant – I might be going for longer than that – but I must give the new Doctor a fair trial…
      I wonder if there is a clergy appreciation society for Dr Who?

      Comment by paxtonvic | January 12, 2010 | Reply

      • I believe that our own Archdeacon and Canon Missioner may be the key players in the Ely Diocese Doctor Appreciation society. Cybermen in the cathedral, anyone?

        Comment by Ally | January 13, 2010

  3. I can’t remember which episode the regeneration limit was mentioned (it’s the ‘old’ Who, and I don’t know those so well as I don’t have them on DVD) – Hugh McCurdy would know. But there’s no guarantee the new producers will stick to it anyway, as they’ve contradicted some other ‘canon’ facts already. I hope they dont’ limit him to 13!

    Comment by Ally | January 13, 2010 | Reply

  4. I had to resort to looking it up on Wikipedia (Oh, the shame!). It was ‘The Deadly Assasin’. But there are potential exceptions. See this link for more:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Time_Lord#History_within_the_show

    Comment by Ally | January 13, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

