Paxtonvic’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Me and my blog

Not had a lot of time lately to blog but here are a few minutes before some yummy food to type a few little bits.

Firstly, Nick G sent this to me recently:

“This is one of the meditations I got in my inbox this morning …

For ever I will sing the goodness of the Lord. ~Psalm 89

They came bringing to him a paralytic carried by four men. Unable to get
near Jesus because of the crowd, they opened up the roof above him. After
they had broken through, they let down the mat on which the paralytic was lying. ~Mark 2:1-12

Scripture for the Day: http://www.usccb.org/nab/
Meditation:

We can bring those in need of help the the Lord. The friends of the
paralytic man opened the roof above Jesus and lowered their friend through the roof. And Jesus cured their friend. If they had not had the courageand ingenuity to find a way to bring their friend to Jesus he never wouldhave been healed.

Prayer for The Day

I pray that I may use my courage and ingenuity to bring those around me in need of the Lord closer to Him. I pray that I may be a good and
faith-filled friend and family member.

For ever I will sing the goodness of the Lord. ~Psalm 89

Okay – I love those words – but Im sure Im not the only one who has had a severe reality check this week as the tragedy on Haiti has unfolded. A friend of mine told me that Canon Giles Fraser  was on Radio 4 Thought for The Day on Friday trying to make sense of the suffering:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/religion/programmes/thought/week.shtml

It is well worth listening too if you have a moment. Of all the topics I studied many moons ago at theological college   “theodocy”- roughly put ” how can there be a Godof love – and suffering in the world” was the hardest to get my mind round.

This week Ive heard a lot about  suferring and been present with people who are suffering, whether  in body, mind or spirit. And after a long week of difficult things, the best way forward for me is to light a candle and pray. Just that.  All the theological posturing in the world cant take away those feelings of helplessness when faced with someone else’s pain.

” And when human hearts are aching under sorrow’s iron rod

There they find the self same aching deep within the heart of God”

From the hymn – God is Love, Let heaven adore him.

One of my little escapes from hard things is to immerse myself in the pastoral and buccolic world of ” Lark Rise to Candleford” – Series three began last Sunday night on BBC 1 TV

I truly love the creative adaptation  of Flora Thompson’s trilogy – love the setting, the acting and the way that every day life is portrayed in a gentle and endearing way.   When I think of my poor agricultural ancestors living in Bletchingdon and Longworth in Oxfordshire, I wonder  how true to life the Lark Rise portrayal of life is…but I bet they were happier than a lot of wealthy folk now are in the 21st century.

I am chuffed that I have had a comment on one of my early blogs about Longworth – someone with links to the Richings family there of stonemasons has commented ….. how  clever  is that!

If you want to know more about Lark Rise – and the history behind it – go to: http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00gbbl0





January 16, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. I listen to R4 in the mornings and was excited to hear that the ++ of York was going to be to talk about how a loving God could allow Haiti-type events to happen. I was disappointed by what he had to say – he talked of the mystery of God which is, of course, an important message. But I had hoped he would say that God is not some kind of wizard casting spells for good or evil and that rather than being the reason for this kind of tragedy, he is in fact the answer to it. He is with us in our grief, he experiences it to and he is at work in Haiti and in every life right now whatever the cause of the devastation. That’s my experience of God and I pray he is with all your readers in that way too.

    Comment by Nick | January 17, 2010 | Reply

  2. Thanks for that, Nick.
    Your comments echo the words of the hymn as I quoted:
    And when human hearts are aching, under sorrow’s iron rod
    There they found the same self aching, deep within the heart of God.

    For me, theres a sort of circle going on in the movement of caring in the face of suffering. The person/s who are suffering, the empathy of the human carer and the love of God longing to bring healing expressed in the action of the carer.

    Comment by paxtonvic | January 17, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

