Paxtonvic’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A prayer for the election tomorrow

A prayer for the General Election

So many policies, so much cynicism, just one vote. Loving God, thank you for caring about how our country is run, and that we have the right to vote for our politicians and government. But in the run-up to this general election there are so many policies to understand, and so many different points of view to consider – sometimes I wonder whether there’s any point in voting, whether anyone cares what I think.

As I choose who I am going to vote for, help me not to be cynical about politics and politicians, help me to remember that my vote can make a difference, and help me vote for those people who will protect the poor and vulnerable, and do all they can to make our nation a place of fairness and peace. Because you call us to act justly, love mercy and walk humbly with you, our God. Amen.

PS  UK people – Dont foget to vote…..

May 5, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Good prayer, I may have accidentally temporarily disenfranchised myself but hopefully a friend in Coton will be using my proxy vote.

    Comment by Cheryl Collins | May 6, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

