Paxtonvic’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Saving Souls

Just come across this little poem – it rings some bells for me:

All this talk of saving souls.

Souls weren’t made to save,

like Sunday clothes that

give out at the seams.

They’re made for wear; they

come with lifetime guarantees.


Don’t save you soul.

Pour it out like rain on

cracked, parched earth.

Give you soul away, or

pass it like a candle flame.

Sing it out, or

laugh it up the wind.


Souls were made for hearing

breaking hearts, for puzzling dreams,

remembering august flowers,

forgetting hurts.


These men who talk of saving souls!

They have the look of bullies

who blow out candles before

you sing happy birthday,

and want the world to be

in alphabetical order.


I will spend my soul

playing it out like sticky string

into the world,

so I can catch every

last thing I touch.

by Linda Underwood

Just off to singsome songs in a Nursing Home with a few of our choir members. Its been such a busy few days with little spare time to play with my blog – but I hope to put some nice photos on later.

I did watch the new Sherlock Holmes series on BBC 1 last night – thought it was fantastic – though didnt sleep too well afterwards! Late night dramas arent the best thing for me to indulge in when I want to get to sleep…

July 26, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

