Paxtonvic’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Time begins anew

“Time is too slow for those who wait,

too swift for those who fear,

too long for those who grieve,

too short for those who rejoice,

but for those who love, time is eternity.”

Henry Van Dyke.

Recently I rescued my old Nanny  Minnie’s clock from a place hidden behind a pile of books and gently brought it to life again. It is a very precious clock which she and her husband were given on their wedding day in 1921.

I had it restored some years ago but hadnt really got round to letting is run properly again. So having found the old key, I gently turned the winding mechanism, pushed the pundulum – and off it went. And its been running for a day now – a little fast but thats good as it may mean Im not late for  things! The chime and the  tick- tock are some of my earliest memories.  It stood in Nanny’s front room next door to  the house where I grew up in Boscombe. It has chimed its way through so much inthe last 89 years – and here it is tick tocking along whilst the earth unfolds more stories of  human endeavour. I wonder when it will finally stop chiming all together? I hope not for a long time now.

Nanny’s clock – with a picture of my late mother beside it when she was a little girl.

August 5, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

