Paxtonvic’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Kimbolton Church

Opportunity  arose for me to spend some time in Kimbolton near to St Neots recently – and readers wont be surprised that I headed striaght to the church.

I had often driven past it, but never gone inside.

Before I post some pictures, here is a summary of the church on the excellent web-site along with a pciture from the site:

The earliest reference to a church and priest at
Kimbolton  appears in the Domesday survey of 1086.

Originally a wooden structure, it was replaced by
stone in about 1200. Today the external appearance
is mainly 14thC with 15thC additions.

In the churchyard there is a fine selection of table
tombs dating back to the early 18thC.

http://www.standrew-kimbolton.org.uk/

Now for some of the thngs inside that took my interest:

A view looking towards the chancel

Looking towards the south aisle


Detail from the Rood Screen.

This is the information about the rood paintings – if you click on the image you will be able to see the text when a bigger picture comes up.

The splendid servery at the back of church

Love this prayer tree – people write their prayer requests on leaves and add them to the tree.

Finally, as you walk in you find a board showing the church family – pictures of people who worship at St Andrews. It gives a nice homely feel to the church. It is open during daylight hours and is certainly a church which feels as though it wants you to go inside and explore its riches.

It also has a splendid loo…

For more history have a look at the web-site.

Kimbolton is 7 miles west of St Neots on the B645.

It is approx. 24miles from Cambridge and 31miles from Peterborough.

Kimbolton Castle, the home of the Dukes of Manchester until
1950, lies at the eastern end of the High Street, and St Andrew’s Church at the western end.

The village also has some fascinating shops as well as a nice tea shop. Kimbolton  Castle, now the Independent School, has significant history attached to it and walking round the village is a most pleasant experience.

I will go again!

August 7, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Although not a religious person, I love visiting historic buildings. Originally from St Ives, I often return through Kimbolton to avoid the dreaded A14!

    Like you, I’d never visited the church itself but since I was returning from an early morning drop-off to Stansted on Sunday and saw the church in all its autumn glory.

    It was just after the service, so I wasn’t sure that I’d be welcome with my camera, but the congregation were having tea and biscuits and were very informative about the history of the church. What particularly impressed me was the Tiffany window.

    Comment by Carol Henson | October 28, 2010 | Reply

    • Hi Carol

      Thanks for your comment and popping onto my blog. Glad you enjoyed Kimbolton Church – if you ever want to see any of our churches ( Little Paxton, Great Paxton or Diddington) do e-mail me – and I will get them open for you.
      Kind Regards
      Paxtonvic

      Comment by paxtonvic | October 28, 2010 | Reply

  2. Hi Paxtonvic – I might just take you up on that when I next travel “home”. I searched on flickr, where I also have a web presence, and belong to several groups on there which are interested in historic buildings. Whilst searching for images of your churches, I came across a picture of you taken about a year ago – you appear to be trying to swing from the bell ropes?
    I’ve now managed to get my photos online, and thought you might be interested: http://www.carolannphotos.com/blog/church-of-st-andrew-kimbolton/.

    Kind regards
    Carol

    Comment by Carol Henson | October 30, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

