Paxtonvic’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

No greater victory….

The sense of victory can sometimes be overwhelming – this time I have truly cracked it. After seven month and two weeks I have an answer from Student Finance Direct – my daughter can have some maintenance grant for her university course. Of course, I now feel very sorry I kept harrassing them and realise that ” they” are real human beings who had to deal with my icy voice when time after time they said different things when asked where my application had got to. I mean, they have to process thousands of applications – how can they get them all right??  And as there is no way you can talk to the same person every time you ring and you have to start your story anew each time – its bound to all be a bit of a challenge. Strange in a way that a youngster goes to uni and ends up ( often) with a loan of c £18,000 or more to pay off. Which makes me feel very lucky that in the dark ages when I was at uni it was all paid for as my parents werent very well off. Im not really very wll off either, but of course there is now the system of loans  for tuition fees and living costs- which mount up if claimed and spent.  The maintenance grant, the one Ive been chasing, is assessed on a sliding scale taking parents income into consideration.  Thats where my victory comes in – SFD have got there now and daughter has some money to live off which isnt a loan. Result! It aint much but its better than nought.

I heard a very good talk today from an archivist who told us all about the importantance  of keeping church records whether they be registers or documents about repairs to the buildings. I wonder. Will our predecessors spend hours in county record offices looking through our old PCC minutes??? What will our churches look like in 100 years time? Will any body remember us? ”  Surely we shall all end up just a name on an incumbents board.

Ah” they may say of me, if they say anything, ” she was the one who put the loo in”. There are worse ways of being remembered…

September 30, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

