Paxtonvic’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Still on Planet Paxton

Hi Paxtonvic readers

Thanks for the kind enquiries that some of you have made as to my whereabouts….. thankfully Im still here and havent done anything  on impulse  like joining  the Ordinariate or gone into a months silent retreat.

Just been so busy with the regular and wonderful work of being a Vicar – havent even had time to sell anything on e-bay like the  odd church or cathedral.

Also been doing a lot of Rural Dean work and although it felt like a bit of a pain before starting, I have enjoyed putting together a portfolio ( or  a set of briefing papers) about our Deanery for our new Bishop.  It was good to collect in all the parish profiles for our St Neots Deanery and their latest Mission Action Plan updates – which might sound very dry – but they show just how many good things are happening in the Church of England in the St Neots area.’ Tis certainly not asleep and despondent – though as always there are some worries about funding the parish share or fabric repairs and sometimes concern over how many hours clergy are working.

Been engaged in several funerals as well and that is something I find so very rewarding. Plenty of baptism as well and weddings are fast approaching….but for now I think I can actually stop for the rest of the evening.

Decided not to watch the next episode of The Tudors on BBC TV tonight – one of King Henry’s Queen  Catherines is about to lose her head and what with his poor leg playing up and rumblings at court about his ( 5th? ) wife, its gonna be a bit disturbing.

I shall stick to reading a nice book about compassion that someone has brought round for me to read.

Tomorrow Im going to talk about Candlemas: here’s poem that I think Ive posted before – I love it:

Lighting a candle

Lord,

may this candle be a light for you to enlighten me

in my difficulties and decisions.

May it be a fire for you to burn out of me all selfishness and sin.

My it be a flame for you to bring warmth into my heart

towards my family, neighbours and all who meet me.

I place in your care those I come now to remember, especially …..

I cannot stay long here with you:

in leaving this candle I wish to give you something of myself.

Hlep me to continue  my prayer

into everything I do this day.

Amen.

January 29, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Yo Paxy
    good to see your’e back in the land of the living; we were worried! not so much that you’d “gone over” but that your’e baggage train had got stuck in the mud from Ely to Lt. Paxton like good old King John.
    Happy MAP’ing,
    Wingy.

    Comment by Wingy | February 1, 2011 | Reply

  2. Hi Paxy.
    Just heard this joke, it made me chuckle.

    Question; What’s Good King Wenceslas’s favourite Pizza?
    Answer; “Deep-Pan Crisp & Even”

    I laughed so much me gaiters chaffed through me chasuable.

    Wingy.

    Comment by Wingy | February 2, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

