Paxtonvic’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Behold I Stand

Behold I Stand

by Gerrard Kelly.

When the night is deep

With the sense of Christmas

And expectancy hangs heavy

On every breath,

Behold, I stand at the door and knock.

When the floor is knee deep

In discarded wrapping paper

And the new books are open at page one

And the new toys are already broken,

Behold I stand at the door and knock.

When the family is squashed

Elbow to elbow

Around the table

And the furious rush for food is over

And the only word that can describe the feeling

Is full,

Behold, I stand at the door and knock.

And when Christmas is over

And the television is silent

For the first time in two days

And who sent which card to whom

Is forgotten until next year,

Behold, I stand at the door.

And when the nation has celebrating

Christmas without Christ

A birthday

Without a birth

The coming of a kingdom

Without a King

And when I am

Forgotten

Despised

Rejected

Crucified-

Behold, I stand.

December 30, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

