Paxtonvic’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Anyone looking for a screwdriver?

image

image

Persons unknown decided to remove lead from Little Paxton Church roof last night and cause a lot of damage to slate tiles in the process. It appeared that in the persuit of their aims they were disturbed and ran off but left a screwdriver behind. So if anyone needs it back contact me through the blog and we can have a nice chat over a cuppa.
I wonder what it feels like damaging an ancient building whose sole purpose is to promote fellowship and goodwill and comfort? I wonder what it feels like to trample over a burial ground where people have been laid to rest? What does it feel like to steal maybe £30.00 worth of lead and yet cause many more hundreds of pounds of damage.
Id love to understand these peoples thinking…..and then maybe I’d give them back their screwdriver. But as I guess they probably dont think about the consequences of their actions I doubt if I would understand where they come from.
Be rest assured should you be reading this. The village is aware of your labours at church and probably elsewhere…..I dont advise coming back.

January 19, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Sorry about the vandalism. I hope things get restored quickly.

    Comment by Andrew Jagusiak | January 20, 2012 | Reply

  2. Two churches in Scotland where friends worship both had the lead stripped from their roof. I am not sure the cost to St.James but the church in Neilson had to pay out some 20 thousand pound – or about $32.000 in Australian Dollars and only a few years ago the 12th Century Cathedral at Dornoch was vandalised. I like to keep in touch with these things because some of our congregation come from these areas as do members of the wider community. I do not understand why – surely it has to be something more than just plain old greed.

    Comment by edgar62 | February 13, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

