Paxtonvic’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

About time too….

Where has Paxtonvic been?  Well, my computer is working so slowly ( it needs some expert to defrag it?)  Ive put off blogging… but with an antiques programme on  BBC 2 to fill in the minutes whilst computer makes its mind up,  I’m taking my time to blog my “fearless” pictures.

Ive been very brave:

Image

On January 21st at our Open Tower Day, I actually went up to the belfry floor and saw Little Paxton’s bells in situ along with the repaired clock. I was so pleased with myself, having braved two flights of spiral stairs and it was fascinating being up there.

Image

Ken Heley is the master tower tour man and he gave us a demonstration of how the old clock used to be wound up manually.

Image

Here is a view of some of the bells looking upwards from the belfry floor.

Image

Close up of the clock mechanism.

Image

Paxtonvic transfixed by her history lesson.

I marvelled at the skills of the craftsmen who worked in such a small space to introduce the new frame and six bells.

I learnt too that  if you are frightened of doing something its best just to take a deep breath and do it……..( though it did take me several months to get up the tower!)

We hope to have more tower open days when the church reopens in September after re-ordering.

February 13, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

